Arts News


2022 Recipients of Platform 31 Artist Development Scheme Announced Today

Group of Artist participating in Platform 31 in 2022

Following the success of the inaugural Platform 31 programme in 2021, this innovative scheme has returned for 2022, showing the commitment of Local Authority Arts Offices, together with the Arts Council, to supporting the continued development of artists throughout Ireland.

PLATFORM 31 is designed to support artists to reflect on and develop their practice or make work in a new way, while being connected with and supported by peer practitioners, advisors and mentors. The 31 participating artists – one from each Local Authority area in Ireland - were announced today Tuesday 31st May.

Developed by the Association of Local Authority Arts Offices (ALAAO with the Arts Council, PLATFORM 31 offers two elements of support - financial and developmental - for mid-career artists across all disciplines.

Jenny Sherwin, Wicklow County Council Arts Officer said “The Chief Executive of Wicklow County Council Mr Brian Gleeson is pleased that Wicklow is in a position to host this scheme on behalf of the 30 partner local authorities once again in 2022. The quality of the applicants and mix of artistic disciplines represented in the selected group showcases the very finest range of artists in Ireland, who are deeply committed to their practice.

Sinead O’Reilly, Arts Council said “The Arts Council is proud to support the second year of this very thoughtful bursary programme for artists in partnership with local authorities; the response from last year’s artists to the networking and mentoring elements was very heartening and reflected back the benefit of an holistic approach to supporting artists of all disciplines as they navigate new opportunities for their practice”.

The recipient artists, whose disciplines include visual arts, theatre, dance, music, circus/street art, literature and film are:

CARLOW – Chloe Brennan

CAVAN – Alan James Burns

CLARE – Grace Wells

CORK CITY – Éadaoin O’Donoghue

CORK COUNTY – Miriam O’Connor

DONEGAL – Kevin Callaghan

DUBLIN CITY – John Beattie

DUBLIN SOUTH – Kevin Gaffney


FINGAL – Susan Buttner

GALWAY CITY – Treasa O’Brien

GALWAY COUNTY – Stephanie Dufresne

KERRY – Alan Raggett

KILDARE – Ailish Claffey

KILKENNY – Darren Donoghue

LAOIS – Kate Heffernan

LEITRIM – Jo Holmwood

LIMERICK – Joanne Ryan

LONGFORD – Amanda Jane Graham

LOUTH – Una McKevitt

MAYO – Bryan Gerard Duffy

MEATH – Joanna Hopkins

MONAGHAN – Eileen Ferguson

OFFALY – Ian Maleney

ROSCOMMON – Mintesinot Wolde

SLIGO – Bettina Seitz

TIPPERARY – Mollie Anna King

WATERFORD – Clare Scott

WESTMEATH – Aoife Raleigh

WEXFORD – Serena Caulfield

WICKLOW – Maia Nunes

You can read more about this year's artists here: Participating Artists 2022

Participating artists will receive an €8,000 bursary to invest in themselves and their practice, combined with participation in an advisory and developmental framework and a peer network.

PLATFORM 31 is managed by Wicklow County Council on behalf of The Association of Local Authority Arts Officers, in collaboration with the Arts Council.

For more information on see:


Back to Arts News
© Sligo County Council Arts Department, City Hall, Quay Street, Sligo, Co. Sligo, Ireland tel: +353 (0) 71 911 4465