Live Music in the Classroom


In 2007, following the publication of our Live Music in the Classroom report (2006), Sligo Arts Service and Sligo Education Centre, together with primary school teachers around the county and musicians from Ceoláras Coleman, Sligo Academy of Music and Sligo Jazz Project formed a partnership to develop and deliver a programme of music education at primary school level. This programme has grown out of the Vogler Quartet in Sligo Residency, an innovative use of an international string quartet as the central resource in a programme of long-term music education and development inSligo which took place from 1999 to 2004. On the work of the residency in the education field has had a strong impact, and the engagement of teachers and artists with this project continues to drive developments in this area.

The programme commenced in 2008 and brings live music to primary school classrooms around the county. Participating teachers work collaboratively with trained musicians in the design of a six week programme, tailored to enrich the creative experience of music in schools and enhance the delivery of the primary music curriculum inSligo. The period of preparation by teachers and students culminates in ‘in-class’ workshops with musicians. The programme includes resources that focus on listening and responding, composing and performing as well as cross curricular ideas and activities. 


Eddie Lee (bass), Ken McDonald (drums), Kieran Quinn (keyboard), Stan Burns (saxophone), Heidi Wilson (keyboard), Yvonne Cunningham (voice), Peter Crann (percussion), Deirdre Byron Smith (harp), Adrienne Lee (fiddle), Michael Hurley (flute/banjo), Junior Davey (bodhran), P.J Hernon (accordion), Fiona Doherty (fiddle/flute/banjo), Colm O’ Donnell (flute/voice), Shaza O Hara (cello), Austin McManus (violin/viola), Lucie O’Hara (recorder), Anna Houston (cello), Steve Wickham (violin), Francis Bell (viola), Anne-Marie Keaney (voice).


Stokane N.S; S.N Chriost Ri Enniscrone; Owenbeg N.S; St Farnan’s N.S. Killeenduff; Culleens N.S; St Patrick’s N.S Calry; S.N. Realt na Mara Rossespoint; S.N Molaise Grange; St John’s N.S Ballisodare; Rathcormack N.S; St Edward’s N.S Ballytivnan; Scoil Asicus Strandhill; St Michael’s N.S Cloonacool; Sooey N.S; S.N Treasa Ballintogher; Culfadda N.S; Coolbock N.S Riverstown; St Joseph’s N.S Kilmactranny; Ardkeerin N.S Riverstown.


For information on current music work in Sligo’s schools see the page Music Generation Sligo.


Lucie O'Hara Stan Burns


© Sligo County Council Arts Department, City Hall, Quay Street, Sligo, Co. Sligo, Ireland tel: +353 (0) 71 911 4465